Lindsay Hunter’s ‘Ugly Girls’: Fiction & the Spectacle of Rural Poverty

Flavorwire

51E7ZMXt0SL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Not long ago, I found myself trapped in an elevator with a finance attorney who told me, without blinking, that the show Here Comes Honey Boo Boo makes a “great case for eugenics in this country.” Motivated by my irritation, he continued: “Those people should not be allowed to breed.”

“Do you watch the show often?” I asked.

“Oh, I’ve seen probably every episode.”

View original post 1,492 more words

Yes? You have something to say?

